The People of Flint Need Our Help

The team at Haulix has been working behind-the-scenes to help make this project a reality. We don’t want credit, we just want you to help the people of Flint. Read on and find how $5 will get you a 60 song compilation and help make a difference where it’s needed most.

FLINT, MI – Pre-orders are now available for Not Safe To Drink: Music For Flint Water Crisis Relief. The charity compilation, which will be released digitally on February 20, is being offered in exchange for a minimum donation of $5 through Bandcamp. All proceeds raised will go to benefit FlintKids.Org, a charity that focuses on the long term fixes and aid related to lead exposure in Flint, Michigan’s children.

Use this link to purchase the album:

A track list for Not Safe To Drink is not yet available, but so far more than 50 artists from the worlds of punk, rock, alternative, and metal have contributed material to the release. A list of artists already confirmed to appear can be found below:

  • Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties
  • Allout Helter
  • American Opera*
  • Ana*
  • Anti-Flag
  • Arms Aloft
  • Autumn Coma
  • Baggage
  • Big D and the Kids Table
  • Birdhouse
  • Blight
  • Bluffing The Ghosts
  • Building Birds
  • Burning Cities
  • Call In The Cavalry
  • Cerna
  • Craig Owens*
  • Dalinian
  • Deadbeat Beat
  • Deer Widow
  • Desires
  • Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate)
  • Fine Fine Titans
  • Grey Gordon
  • Half Hearted Hero
  • Heartless Breakers
  • I Set My Friends On Fire
  • It Lies Within
  • J. Navarro & The Traitors
  • Jamie Kilstein*
  • Jeff Rosenstock
  • Kid Dreamer
  • King 810
  • Kriss Gaynes*
  • Lawnmower*
  • Lights Over Bridgeport
  • Meat Wave
  • Midwest*
  • Nothing Gold*
  • Oakhill
  • Pentimento
  • Personification*
  • Propagandhi
  • Real Friends
  • Rival Summers
  • Safe To Say
  • Second To None
  • Starsleeper
  • Sunglasses On A Plane*
  • Suicide Machines
  • Sweat
  • Taking Back Sunday
  • The Faraday Cage
  • The Major Minor
  • The Most Dangerous Animal
  • The Nightmare Police
  • The Obsessives
  • The Swellers*
  • The Teaheads
  • Timeshares
  • Tripp N’ Dixie
  • Tunde Olaniran
  • Unison*
  • We Came As Romans
  • Wince

(* = recording original song for compilation)

About Not Safe To Drink: Frustrated with the lack of response from the music industry at large to the Flint water crisis, Michigan natives Jonathan Diener (drummer for The Swellers) and James Shotwell (Marketing coordinator for Haulix) have partnered create a compilation aimed at bringing attention and relief to the problems plaguing those that live in The Vehicle City. Their involvement, as well as that of every artist and label that contributes material, is entirely unpaid.

James Shotwell

James Shotwell is the Director of Customer Engagement at Haulix and host of the company's podcast, Inside Music. He is also a public speaker known for promoting careers in the entertainment industry, as well as an entertainment journalist with over a decade of experience. His bylines include Rolling Stone, Alternative Press, Substream Magazine, Nu Sound, and Under The Gun Review, among other popular outlets.